The georadar research of Sacsayhuaman archaeological complex

Sacsayhuaman

In recent years the employees of Sacsayhuaman archaeological complex witnessesed a number of destructive processes taking place at the certain sites of the complex. These consisted of the large cracks coming forth in the main walls, the shift of the stone blocks and recession of the walls (see the Drawings).

Such trend may lead to an irreversible and unrecognizable change of the complex which remains to be one of the most significant monuments of the heritage of Inca. That's why this issue raised a need to conduct a research to define the reasons of these continuous destructive processes taking place at Saksaywaman complex. Despite the state of art technologies of the modern geology and geophysics, it was difficult to find the one which allows to have a deep look into the soil and to find out the clear causes of the adverse processes influencing the constructions of the complex.

sacsayhuaman-002 sacsayhuaman-003
sacsayhuaman-004 sacsayhuaman-005

Introduction

In the beginning of July 2012, under the guidance of the Ministry of Culture of Peru a group of geophysicists from Geo & Asociados SRL was called-off to research the current problem of Sacsayhuaman. The selection of the company was not by accident as the experts of this research company possess the technology of georadar scanning, that was developed in the Russian institute VNIISMI, and which has no analogy in the world. The georadars of “Loza” series allow exploring the geologic structure of land till the level of 200 meters below the ground surface. Such georadar researches allow the experts of VNIISMI to detect the areas of high humidity, the fissures in rock formations, crust fractures, underground objects, etc.

Research of the 4 levels of Sacsayhuaman

sacsayhuaman-006

Highlighted in yellow are the sections of walls where the fractures between the blocks are of significant size. Highlighted in red are the sections where the walls were destroyed.

During the research 4 cross-sections of the main levels of the complex were measured. To achieve the maximum detail of measurements the minimal step was 10 sm (the accuracy of step was metered with a measuring reel).

sacsayhuaman-007 sacsayhuaman-008
sacsayhuaman-010 sacsayhuaman-011

The results of the measurements were sent to the Russian VNIISMI institute for further analysis and reading. Data reading was performed by Pavel Morozov, chief georadar expert of VNIISMI.
The sites under levels 3 and 4 of the wall 60-70 meters to the west of the wall slide were of most interest.

sacsayhuaman-013

sacsayhuaman-014

In the demonstrated area of level 4 there was diagnosed an extensive area of fissured rocky soil. The fissured area is detected to be at the depth 10-12 meters.

sacsayhuaman-015

In the demonstrated zone of level 3 an extended area of fissured soil is also detected.

sacsayhuaman-016

An extended zone of fissured soil goes through the area of wall foundation. Such fissuring under the wall has a role of a drainage basin and a channel for the natural line gradient movement of ground waters. Uncontrollable local movement of ground waters under the wall’s foundation will lead to the washout of the easily soluble fractions of the top layer of soil and to the loss of the carrying capacity of the wall’s foundation.

sacsayhuaman-017

Enlarged cross-section allows to observe the areas of soil down-warping and subsidence – they are located directly under the foundation of the wall.
It is worth adding that this is not the only area of fissuring. Below are the several similar examples located at different levels.

Level 1:

sacsayhuaman-018
 
Level 2:

sacsayhuaman-019

sacsayhuaman-020
   
Level 3:

sacsayhuaman-021

To prevent the further destruction of wall, it is necessary to conduct further investigation of the soil under the foundation, to detect all zones of fissuring and to track their extension. Based on the data regarding the location of the fissuring areas where the surface waters are captured and from where they flow down along the natural gradient line, it is necessary to organize the lateral drainage of the surface waters and their deflection from the wall foundation.

Analysis of the block stone surface

Extensive erosion of the surface was observed at a great number of Sacsayhuaman block stones during the georadar research by the experts of “Geo & Asociados SRL”.

sacsayhuaman-022  sacsayhuaman-023

To clarify the cause of these processes the samples of materials which bear no cultural value were taken (this was approved by the staff of the archaeological unit). At the moment of preparation of this report, comprehensive analyses are still being carried out in a number of Russian laboratories – this is to get the precise information regarding the geological structure, characteristics and the chemical formula of the mentioned samples. However, the first preliminary analysis was performed yet during the georadar measurements – 2 samples were placed into an acidic medium (vinegar). After several hours the samples got dissolved almost completely with only a little amount of residue remaining.

Despite the uncertainty as to the precise chemical formula of the material, the mentioned experiment demonstrates that the stone blocks in the walls of Sacsayhuaman may gradually dissolve under the influence of acidic environment. Acidic environment in its turn is often observed in rain precipitations of many countries, which possess heavy industry where the production cycle with utilization of various acids is being violated (for example, mining industry).

To verify the mentioned hypothesis the research of the chemical content of rain precipitations is required. In case of discovery of even the slightest contents of any acids in rain precipitations, the necessary and immediate measures will need to be taken to protect the Sacsayhuaman archaeological complex. That can be done with the help of modern methods (covering the stone blocks with a protective coating, etc.).

Archaeological research of the Sacsayhuaman “Arena”

In addition, there was conducted a research of a land plot of circular shape located in the Northern part of Sacsayhuaman (hereinafter named “Arena”) since it is of high archaeological interest.

sacsayhuaman-024
 
To make the measurements easier a rectangular site within the arena was singled out. At the above drawing the 1-4 figures mark the boundaries of the measuring range. In total, 35 cross-sections were measured 50 meters each (the first cross-section was located in the direction of 1->2 and the last one was located between 3->4); the distance between the cross-sections is 1 meter. After the primary data processing it became possible to construct the 3D model of the researched area:

sacsayhuaman-025
 
The obtained data were also sent for further analysis to the VNIISMI Institute. As a result, a few interesting underground objects were detected.
Between the marks 2 and 4, almost at the very border of the measuring range, there is a flat top of a big stone. The top is located at a ground level (marked with a red arrow at the drawing below):

sacsayhuaman-026

Below is the radargram of this object:

sacsayhuaman-027

One of the VNIISMI experts deems this object to be either an underground sepulchre or a unit of a similar shape. The object is 90% hand made.

At a larger part of the measuring range (closer to mark 1) there was detected a barrow pit located at a low depth (of approximately 2 meters) with the varying length of 4 to 20 meters:

 

sacsayhuaman-028

At cross-section 8 at a significant depth there was discovered a big stone (marked with 1 at the drawing below) and a platform (marked with 2 at the drawing):

sacsayhuaman-029

Beside that, judging by the vaguely observed curves in the bottom of the left corner of the last two drawings one may assume that Arena has a bowl-shaped floor. However, the available data is not enough to make a definite statement on that, since during the measurement the regime that was applied is meant for low depths.

Conclusions

The conducted research demonstrates that there exists significant risk for the Sacsayhuaman archaeological complex. Under the walls of the main layers there were discovered the areas of fissured rocky soil which contribute to incontrollable movement of the underground waters, washout of the easily soluble fractions in the top layer of soil and lead to the loss of the carrying capacity of the walls’ foundation. Recommendations were made for elimination of the negative impact caused by defects of the rocky soil.

There was diagnosed an ability of the stone block material to dissolve when in contact with acidic environment; this creates the risk of rain precipitations containing the components of various acids influencing the blocks of stones.

At the area of “Arena” located in the Northern part of Sacsayhuaman there were discovered the underground objects  which are interesting from the archaeological point of view – a sepulcher, a barrow pit and others.

Comments   

0#profile2018-10-31 16:17
Need cheap hosting? Try webhosting1st, just $10 for an year.

You must log in to post comments

Comments

Георадарные исследования археологического комплекса Саксайуаман

Sacsayhuaman

В последние годы сотрудниками археологического комплекса Саксайуаман были замечены деструктивные процессы на некоторых участках комплекса, которые выражались в образовании крупных щелей в кладке основных стен, смещении отдельных блоков и даже обвалах (примеры на рисунках).

Подобные тенденции могут привести к неузнаваемому и необратимому изменению облика важнейшего памятника наследия инков, поэтому проблема требовала проведения исследований для установления причин продолжающегося разрушения комплекса Саксайуаман. Тем не менее, при всей развитости современной геологии и геофизики очень сложно было найти технологию, которая позволила бы заглянуть вглубь земной поверхности и с полной ясностью увидеть причины развития тех негативных процессов, которые происходят с сооружениями комплекса.

sacsayhuaman-002 sacsayhuaman-003
sacsayhuaman-004 sacsayhuaman-005

Введение

В начале июля 2012 года министерством культуры Перу была вызвана группа геофизиков из фирмы Geo & Asociados SRL для исследования проблем Саксайуамана. Выбор был сделан неслучайно, т.к. специалисты данной компании располагают технологией георадарного сканирования, разработанной в российском институте ВНИИСМИ, не имеющей аналогов в мире. Георадары серии «Лоза» позволяют исследовать геологическую структуру земли на глубину вплоть до 200 метров. При этом по полученным радарограммам специалисты ВНИИСМИ могут выявлять места повышенной влажности, трещины и разломы, локализованные подземные объекты и многое другое.

Исследования 4-х ярусов Саксайуамана

sacsayhuaman-006

Желтым обозначены участки стен, где щели между блоками имеют значительные величины. Красным – разрушенные участки стен.

В процессе исследований было измерено 4 профиля на основных ярусах комплекса. Для максимальной подробности измерения выполнялись с минимальным шагом 10 см (точность шага обеспечивалась измерительной рулеткой).

sacsayhuaman-007 sacsayhuaman-008
sacsayhuaman-010 sacsayhuaman-011

Результаты измерений были отосланы в российский институт для анализа и интерпретации. Обработку данных производил Морозов Павел – главный специалист ВНИИСМИ по георадарам.
Основной интерес вызвала область под 3-м и 4-м ярусом, находящаяся в 60-70 метрах от обвала в западную сторону.

sacsayhuaman-013

sacsayhuaman-014

В данной области 4-го яруса регистрируется обширная зона трещиноватого скального грунта. Глубина зоны трещиноватости регистрируется до 10-12 метров.

sacsayhuaman-015

В данной области 3-го яруса так же регистрируется обширная зона трещиноватости.

sacsayhuaman-016

Обширная зона трещиноватости пересекает основание стены. Присутствие такой зоны трещиноватости под стеной играет роль водосбора и канала движения грунтовых вод вниз по естественному уклону. Неконтролируемое локальное движение грунтовых вод под основанием стены приведет к выносу легкорастворимых фракций верхнего слоя грунта и потере несущей способности фундамента стены.

sacsayhuaman-017

В увеличенном масштабе, в верхней части разреза хорошо видны участки провалов и просадок грунта непосредственно под фундаментом стены.
Стоит отметить, что это далеко не единственная область трещиноватости. Ниже приведено несколько подобных примеров на разных ярусах.

Ярус 1:

sacsayhuaman-018
 
Ярус 2:

sacsayhuaman-019

sacsayhuaman-020
   
Ярус 3:

sacsayhuaman-021

Для предотвращения разрушений стены необходимо обследовать грунт в основании, выявить все зоны трещиноватости и проследить их продолжение. Используя данные о положении зон трещиноватости, собирающих поверхностные воды и дренирующих вниз по естественному уклону, необходимо организовать перехватывающий дренаж поверхностных вод и отведение его от основания стены.

Поверхностное исследование каменных блоков

Во время георадарных исследований специалистами Geo & Asociados SRL была замечена существенная поверхностная эрозия многих каменных глыб Саксайуамана.

sacsayhuaman-022  sacsayhuaman-023

Для выяснения причин этих процессов были взяты образцы материала, не представляющие культурной ценности (по согласованию с сотрудниками археологического комплекса). На момент написания данного отчета в нескольких российский лабораториях проводятся всесторонние анализы для выяснения точной геологической породы, характеристик, а так же химической формулы взятых образцов. Однако первый грубый анализ был проведен еще во время георадарных измерений – 2 образца были помещены в кислую среду (уксус). Через несколько часов образцы были практически полностью растворены, оставив после себя лишь незначительное количество осадка.

Несмотря на неизвестность на данный момент точной химической формулы материала, данный эксперимент показывает, что каменные блоки в стенах Саксайуамана могут постепенно растворяться под действием кислой среды. Кислая среда, в свою очередь, часто наблюдается в дождевых осадках в разных странах при наличии предприятий тяжёлой промышленности, на которых производственный цикл с участием различных кислот осуществляется с нарушениями (например, горнодобывающая промышленность).

Для подтверждения данной версии необходимы исследования химического состава дождевых осадков. В случае обнаружения даже незначительного процентного содержания каких-либо кислот в дождевой воде следует принять незамедлительные меры по защите археологического комплекса Саксайуаман современными методами (нанесение защитного покрытия на каменные блоки и др.).

Археологическое исследование «Арены» Саксайуамана

Дополнительно было проведено исследование участка округлой формы в северной части Саксайуамана (далее «Арена»), т.к. он представляет большой интерес с археологической точки зрения.

sacsayhuaman-024
 
Для облегчения измерений был выделен участок прямоугольной формы. На рисунке выше отметками 1-4 отмечены границы области измерений. Всего было измерено 35 профилей по 50 метров каждый (первый профиль в направлении 1->2, последний 3->4), расстояние между профилями – 1 метр. После первичной обработки данных стало возможно построение исследуемой области в 3d режиме:

sacsayhuaman-025
 
Полученные данные также были отправлены на обработку в институт ВНИИСМИ. В результате было выделено несколько интересных подземных объектов.
Между отметками 2 и 4 практически у самой границы измерений располагается плоская вершина большого камня, которая находится на уровне земли (показан на рисунке красной стрелкой):

sacsayhuaman-026

Ниже представлена радарограмма с этим объектом:

sacsayhuaman-027

Специалист ВНИИСМИ однозначно трактовал этот объект, как подземный склеп, либо схожую по форме структуру. На 90% объект имеет рукотворное происхождение.

Также на большей части измеряемой зоны с некоторым смещением в сторону отметки 1 был зарегистрирован котлован, расположенный на небольшой глубине (около 2 м) и меняющий свою протяжённость от 4 до 20 метров:

sacsayhuaman-028

На 8-ом по счёту профиле на значительной глубине был обнаружен большой камень (на рисунке отмечен «1») и плита (на рисунке отмечена «2»):

sacsayhuaman-029

Кроме того по слабо наблюдающимся дугам в левом нижнем углу последних двух рисунков можно предположить наличие у Арены чашеобразного дна, однако имеющихся данных недостаточно, чтобы утверждать это однозначно, т.к. при измерениях был использован режим, рассчитанный на небольшую глубину.

Выводы

Проведенные исследования показали наличие серьезной опасности для археологического комплекса Саксайуаман. Под стенами основных ярусов обнаружены зоны трещиноватого скального грунта, которые способствуют неконтролируемому движению грунтовых вод, вымыванию легкорастворимых фракций верхнего грунта и потере несущей способности фундамента стены. Предложены рекомендации по устранению негативного воздействия дефектов скального грунта.

Была выявлена способность материала каменных блоков растворяться при контакте с кислой средой и, как следствие, опасность воздействия на каменные блоки дождевых осадков, содержащих компоненты различных кислот.

На участке «Арена», расположенном в северной части Саксайуамана, найдены интересные с археологической стороны подземные объекты – склеп, котлован и прочие.

Авторизуйтесь на сайте чтобы оставить комментарий.

Комментарии

Авторизация or Регистрация